Rangitoto Classic

About the $350,000 Rangitoto Classic (1500m)

Date: Saturday 2 March 2024

Meeting: Trackside New Zealand Derby Day at Ellerslie

Distance: 1500m

Weights: HCP conditions max weight of 62kg

Conditions: For Trainers outside of the Top 10 in prizemoney at midnight 30 November 2023 

Eligibility: The Top 10 Trainers will be determined for this purpose by NZTR based on stakes earned in New Zealand during the 2023/24 racing season as at midnight on 30 November 2023. Any horse transferred from a Top 10 Trainer’s stable to a Trainer who is not a Top 10 Trainer after midnight on 31 October 2023 will not be eligible to start in the race – 1500m

2024 Winner: Jaarffi
Trainer: Lance Noble
Jockey: Masa Hashizume
Owner(s): Brendan Lindsay MNZM & Mrs J E A Lindsay
Breeder: B J Lindsay MNZM & Mrs J E A Lindsay

The Trainers and training partnerships ineligible to enter a horse for this race are as follow:

  • Mark Walker/Sam Bergerson
  • Stephen Marsh
  • Lisa Latta
  • Lance O’Sullivan/Andrew Scott
  • Tony Pike
  • Andrew Forsman
  • Robbie Patterson
  • Kevin Myers
  • Danny Walker/Aaron Tata
  • Allan Sharrock

Furthermore, any horse that was trained by a trainer(s) listed above, and transferred to another stable after 31 October 2023 is also ineligible to enter for this race.